The American Numismatic Association’s voting members have elected a president, vice president, and board of governors to serve the 2021-2023 term.

The 2021 annual ANA banquet, which is held in conjunction to the organization’s World’s Fair of Money in Rosemont, Illinois, will witness the swearing in of the winning candidates.

Donald H. Kagin was defeated by Dr. Ralph W. Ross (current vice president), with a margin of only 17 votes (2,749 to 2732). Ross will succeed Col. Steven Ellsworth as president. He will also serve as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the board.

Joseph E. Boling was the unopposed candidate for vice president. According to ANA Bylaws, uncontested offices are not tabulated and only the first vote counts.

Mary Lynn Garrett was the leader of voting for the seven candidates running for positions on the board. Garrett was elected with 4,165 votes. The remaining five top vote-getters were all returning board members. Clifford Mishler (4.111), Shanna Schmidt (3.991), Michael Ellis (3.989), and Rob Oberth (3.985) were elected for the new two-year term.

Charles Morgan (3.911 votes) was elected, and Mark Lighterman (3.910 votes). Both will assume their respective positions in August. They will replace Greg Lyon (who is leaving the board because of term limits) and Muriel Emery, who was not elected. Eymery will replace any governor who is unable to fulfill their term.

Eligible ANA members could choose to vote electronically or by paper ballot. Two-thirds (5,560) of votes cast were by paper ballots.

Election Services Corp. of Hauppauge (New York) conducted the election and tabulated the results. 19.027 ANA members were eligible for voting, but less than 30% of them cast ballots in 2021. Members must be at least 13 years of age and have been a member for at least one calendar year.